Skip to main content

Graduate Student Awards and Fellowships




Akeley-Mandler Award for Teaching Excellence

The Akeley-Mandler Award recognizes exceptional graduate student teaching assistants who excel beyond the mere requirements of the job, investing their effort to ensure that they provide the best education possible to their students.  This award is made possible thanks to a gift made by Instructor Emeritus Anna Akeley in memory of her husband, Prof. Edward S. Akeley, and brother, Kurt Mandler.



Charlotte Ida Litman Tubis Award

The Charlotte Ida Litman Tubis Award was established in her memory by her husband, Prof. Emeritus Arnold Tubis, to promote clear and concise communication of scientific ideas beyond the physics and astronomy community.



Dr. Warner Black Award

The Black Award recognizes graduate students whose research has the potential to bring physics to the people and to help them improve their lives by using a deep knowledge of fundamental and applied physics to make practical and useful inventions that have a real and lasting impact.



Edward S. Akeley Award

This award recognizes outstanding physics graduate students in theoretical physicists.  The Akeley Award is made possible through the generosity of Instructor Emeritus Anna M. Akeley.



Gabriele F. Giuliani Award

Established in 2013 in memory of Prof. Gabriele F. Giuliani, this award honors excellence in teaching by first- or second-year graduate students.  These graduate students show dedication and dependability, and, like Professor Giuliani, demonstrate a passion for physics that contributes to a rich learning environment.



George W. Tautfest Award

This award honors outstanding physics graduate students in high energy particle physics, high energy nuclear physics, or astrophysics.  Prof. Tautfest was the leader of the Purdue High Energy Physics group until his death in 1967 at age 41.  The award was established in 1969 by his colleagues and the Purdue Alumni Foundation.



H. Y. Fan Award

The Fan Award recognizes outstanding graduate research in condensed matter physics, biological physics, or AMO physics.  The award was established in recognition of Prof. Fan’s many contributions to condensed matter physics, particularly in the area of infrared studies of semiconductors, and to the Department of Physics and Astronomy.



Karl Lark-Horovitz Award

Our Department’s most prestigious graduate student honor, the Lark-Horovitz Award recognizes outstanding research accomplishments.  The award is possible through the generosity of the faculty as well as the family, friends, and associates of Prof. Lark-Horovitz in memory of his great contribution to the growth and development of the Department of Physics and Astronomy.



Lijuan Wang Memorial Awards

The Lijuan Wang Memorial award is given annually to one or more outstanding graduate student majors who promote the gender diversity of the department through participation in Women in Physics.  Lijuan Wang was a graduate student in the department from 1989 until her untimely death in 1992.



Ramdas Prize in Honor of Professor CV Raman

The Ramdas Prize in Honor of Professor CV Raman recognizes a Ph.D. student or recent alumni for an outstanding dissertation. The Ramdas Prize was established in 2018 by Anant K. Ramdas, the Lark-Horovitz Distinguished Professor (Emeritus) of Physics and Astronomy, and his wife Vasanti Ramdas, to honor Anant's teacher, Nobel Laureate Sir C. V. Raman.



Bilsland Dissertation Fellowship

The Bilsland Dissertation Fellowship provides support to outstanding Ph.D. candidates in their final year of writing.



Gary L. Wright Memorial Fellowship

The Wright Fellowship was established by Mrs. Patricia Schreiner in honor of her husband who began his studies at Purdue University as a physics major.  The fellowship supports research by a graduate student active in the promotion of women’s issues in physics.



Rolf Scharenberg Graduate Fellowship

The Rolf Scharenberg Graduate Fellowship was established in 2017 through the generosity of Wendell and Nancy Lutz.  The fellowships allow first- or second-year graduate students to work with a research advisor for a summer prior to joining a research group permanently.


Last Updated: Jul 25, 2023 11:51 AM

Department of Physics and Astronomy, 525 Northwestern Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2036 • Phone: (765) 494-3000 • Fax: (765) 494-0706

Copyright © 2023 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science.