Skip to main content

Dr. Laura Pyrak-Nolte elected 2020 AGU Fellow


Writer(s): Cheryl Pierce

The American Geophysical Union (AGU) has announced that Dr. Laura Pyrak-Nolte has been named a 2020 fellow.  Pyrak-Nolte is a Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy at Purdue University.  Since, 1962, fewer than 0.1% of the AGU members are elected to this prestigious group.

“It is gratifying to be recognized by my peers for my contributions to geophysics,” says Pyrak-Nolte.

In the announcement letter, the AGU Union Fellows Committee wrote, “Thanks to your dedication and contribution to our field, you have advanced geoscience through discovery and innovation. It is your curiosity and your relentless pursuit for the answers to those questions of why and how that have led to your election as a Union Fellow. On behalf of AGU and the Union Fellows committee, we welcome you to our community and we all congratulate you on your well-deserved honor.”

The AGU Fellows program, established in 1962, defines fellows as external experts, capable of advising government agencies and other organizations outside the sciences.  Fellows are named as members who have made exceptional contributions to Earth and space science through a breakthrough, innovation, or discovery in their field.

Sixty two members were announced this week. A complete listing can be found here.

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2023 3:05 PM

Department of Physics and Astronomy, 525 Northwestern Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2036 • Phone: (765) 494-3000 • Fax: (765) 494-0706

Copyright © 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | DOE Degree Scorecards

Trouble with this page? Accessibility issues? Please contact the College of Science.