Skip to main content

Anant K. Ramdas

NOTE: E-mail addresses end with

Anant K. Ramdas

Lark-Horovitz Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Physics
Office: Physics 168
Telephone: (765) 494-3028
Fax: (765) 494-0706


B.Sc., Physics 1950, Poona University, India
M.Sc., Physics 1953 Raman Research Institute, India
Ph.D., Physics 1956 Raman Research Institute, India

Research Interests

Experimental investigation of collective and localized excitations (vibrational, magnetic, and electronic) in semiconductors and their heterostructures; Raman, Brillouin, photoluminescence spectroscopy; absorption/reflectivity spectra in the visible to far infrared; magneto-optics; and modulation spectroscopy. These techniques are exploited in the context of the physics of II-VI semiconductors including diluted magnetic semiconductors and MBE-grown II-VI, III-V, and II-VI/III-V quantum well structures and novel isotopic effects in semiconductors.

Highlights of Recent Work

The unique semiconducting and magnetic phenomena exhibited by II-VI and III-V diluted magnetic semiconductors (DMSs) observed in Raman scattering, Faraday and Voigt effect (Raman EPR, Raman; antiferromagnetic resonance; resonance Raman scattering tuned by magnetic field/temperature; modulation spectroscopy). Folded acoustic phonons, confined and propagating optical phonons; quantum confined electronic transitions observed in II-VI, II-VI/III-V and III-V quantum well structures using Raman and modulation spectroscopy; isotopic effects in the electronic and vibrational spectra of diamond, Si Ge and II-VI semiconductors.

Teaching Interests

  • Spring 2009 Physics 422
  • Fall 2009 Physics 450L
  • Spring 2010 Physics 545

Graduate Students

  • Jayprakash Bhosale
  • Richard Garrelts

Awards and Honors

  • Fellow of the AVS (The Science and Technology Society), 2002
    Citation reads: For fundamental discoveries and delineations of collective and localized excitations in semiconductors and semiconductor structures using optical spectroscopic techniques.
  • Fellow, the American Physical Society, 1969
  • Fellow, the Indian Academy of Sciences, 1969
  • Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Senior U.S. Scientist Award, 1977-78
  • Raman Centenary medal, 1988
  • Special Recognition by the American Chapter of the Indian Physics Association, 1989
  • Frank Isakson Prize, American Physical Society, 1994
  • Herbert Newby McCoy Award, Purdue University, 1994
  • Raman Chair, Indian Academy of Science, 1993-94
  • Fellow, Optical Society of America, 1996
  • Associate Fellow, The Third World Academy of Sciences, 1996

Professional Experience

  • Lark-Horovitz Distinguished Professor of Physics 2002-present.
  • Professor of Physics, Purdue University, 1967-2002
  • Associate Professor of Physics, Purdue University, 1962-67
  • Assistant Professor of Physics, Purdue University, 1960-62
  • Research Associate, Purdue University, 1956-60

Professional Activities

  • Colloquium Committee (Condensed Matter Seminar (Chair))
  • Chemical Physics Program
  • Counselor (Graduate Students)
  • Hubert and Madeline James Lecture Committee
  • Admission Committee (1998-00)
Selected Publications

View selected publications (Word document).

Last Updated: Jan 19, 2017 9:17 AM

Department of Physics and Astronomy, 525 Northwestern Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2036 • Phone: (765) 494-3000 • Fax: (765) 494-0706

Copyright © 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | DOE Degree Scorecards

Trouble with this page? Accessibility issues? Please contact the College of Science.