Skip to main content

Lowell E. Wenger


Distinguished Alumnus 2008

  • BS '71, Purdue University
  • MS '73, Purdue University
  • PhD '75, Purdue University

Lowell Wenger is the dean of the School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics at The University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) where he is responsible for more than 90 faculty and 1,700 students. He has led the NSM faculty through major curricular changes to improve student learning in mathematics and to enhance research and honors opportunities for undergraduates. Before joining UAB, Lowell was a member of the physics faculty at Wayne State University in Detroit, Michigan, and held administrative positions of chair in the Department of Physics and associate dean in the College of Science. As a researcher, he has authored over 120 journal articles and presented his work at numerous national and international conferences. His work focuses on the calorimetric and magnetic properties of spin-glass, superparamagnetic, and other magnetic materials. In addition, he has studied the paramagnetic Meissner and Josephson effects in both conventional and hightemperature superconducting materials. He is presently serving as a co-PI on an National Science Foundation-funded project titled "UAB ADVANCE Institutional Transformation Award," whose objective is to increase the number of female faculty in the science and engineering disciplines. Lowell is a member of the American Physical Society, Materials Research Society, and Sigma Xi, and of the Sigma Pi Sigma, and Phi Kappa Phi honorary societies. He was awarded a Fulbright-Hays Research Fellowship in 1982 and Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship in 1978 and was a recipient of a Board of Governors Faculty Recognition Award and an inaugural Career Development Award while at Wayne State.

Lowell is originally from Middlebury, Indiana, and is a 1967 graduate of Middlebury High School. He and his wife, Andrea (MS '76, Consumer and Family Sciences), reside in the Riverchase area of Birmingham, Alabama.

Career Highlights

  • 2003 Named dean, School of Natural Science and Mathematics, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • 1998 Appointed chair, Department of Physics, Wayne State University
  • 1996 Became an associate dean, College of Science, Wayne State University
  • 1982 Named a Fulbright-Hays Senior Research Fellow, Kamerlingh Onnes Laboratorium, Leiden University, The Netherlands
Last Updated: Apr 29, 2016 3:41 PM

Department of Physics and Astronomy, 525 Northwestern Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2036 • Phone: (765) 494-3000 • Fax: (765) 494-0706

Copyright © 2022 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science.