Purdue University
The Adaptive Optics and Biophotonics group, directed by Professor Nolte


David D. Nolte

Lions Club Award for Outstanding Cancer Research at Purdue (2017)
Purdue University Outstanding Faculty Commercialization Award (2017)
Edward M. Purcell Distinguished Professor of Physics (2015)
Indiana MIRA Award for Technolopgy Innovation of the Year (Animated Dynamics) (2015)
First Place, 26th Burton D. Morgan Business Plan Competition (Animated Dynamics LLC) (2013)
Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) (2012)
Finalist for the Innovation Award of the SLAS (2012)
Finalist for the Innovation Award of the ALA (2006, 2011)
Indiana MIRA Award for Business Innovation of the Year (Quadraspec) (2006)
Hubert Newby McCoy Award (2005)
First Place, 18th Burton D. Morgan Business Plan Competition (Quadraspec Inc.) (2005)
Purdue University Faculty Scholar (2003-2008)
Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) (2003)
Fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA) (1997)
Presidential Young Investigator Award of the NSF (1991)
Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship (1990)
Phi Beta Kappa (1981)
National Merit Scholar (1977)


Student Awards


Awards and honors received by graduate and undergraduate students in Professor Nolte's research group in partial recognition of their important research accomplishments in the science and technology of quantum optoelectronics.

Best Student Paper Award, Electronic Materials Conference:
Indrajit Lahiri (1997)

Departmental Graduate Student Awards:
Lark-Horowitz Award for Best Overall Physics Thesis
Robert M. Brubaker (1995)
Indrajit Lahiri (1998)
Mihaela Dinu (1999)
Manoj Varma (2005)
Kwan Jeong (2007)
Ming Zhao (2009)

H. Y. Fan Award for Best Thesis in Solid State Physics
Qingnan Wang (1993)
Ranbir S. Rana (1995)
Leilei Peng (2005)
Xuefeng Wang (2009)

Bisland Disertation Fellowship
Yihong Liu (2009)
Xuefang Wang (2009)
Ran An (2013)

Departmental Undergraduate Awards:
Best Senior Undergraduate in Physics
George Sefler (1993)
David Crouse (1997)
Pete Rakich (1998)
Kevin O'Brien (2008)