Search this Site

Print this page
RSS facebook twitter

Professor Giordano Appointed Physics Head


Professor GiordanoNick Giordano, Hubert James Distinguished Professor of Physics has been named to the position of department head of the Department of Physics, succeeding Professor Andy Hirsch. Giordano is known for his research in the physics of nanostructures and mesoscopic systems, musical acoustics and the physics of the piano, computational neuroscience, and guitar acoustics. Giordano has earned many awards during his career, including the Purdue University Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award in memory of Charles B. Murphy 2003, the Computational Science Education Award 1997, the Herbert Newby McCoy Award, Purdue University 1992, and was named Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Research Fellow 1979-1983.

The college thanks outgoing department head Andy Hirsch, Professor of Physics, for his leadership, as well as his recruitment of many talented faculty members.