Search this Site

Print this page
RSS facebook twitter

News from the Department



Professor Michael Manfra chosen as University Faculty Scholar



Department to host RHIC/STAR Experiment Analysis Meeting


Physics Outreach brings interactive experiments to the Scouts



Prof. Albert Overhauser remembered in Physics Today


Purdue physicists’ observation sparks debate on radioactive decay rates


President France Córdova awarded honorary Doctorate



Grad. Student John Watson wins Outstanding Student Poster Award at MBE Conference


Physics major Tony Coiro planning 2nd generation solar-powered motorcycle


Prof. Jay Melosh elected Fellow of American Academy of Arts and Sciences


Prof. Laura Cayón helps bring 3-D to the classroom


Prof. David Nolte develops technology to see inside cancer cells



Prof. Ramdas elected AAAS Fellow


Physics Newsletter (2009, PDF)


CLEO particle physics experiment breaks publication world record


Roger Boyce of physics outreach retires after 17 years on the road


Three faculty win NSF CAREER awards in 2009


Sponsored program awards in the College of Science up 18 percent


Prof. Bortoletto named Distinguished Professor of Physics


Professor Overhauser receives 2009 Russell Varian Prize


Professor Kim to speak on Bose-Einstein Condensation Nuclear Fusion


Graduate student Steven Kane (major Professor David Koltick) received an award from the Midwest Crossroads Alliance for Graduate Education and Professoriate (AGEP)


Professor Ian Shipsey appointed to joint DoE/NSF panel


Physics to host Nobel Prize-winning physicist Robert Laughlin on Tuesday, March 31st


Professor Kruczenski selected as Alfred P. Sloan Fellow



Graduate student Yu Zheng (major Professor Ian Shipsey) received the Research Poster Award at the 1st US Large Hadron Collider Users Meeting held on October 24 at Fermi Lab


Professor Daniela Bortoletto appointed to the Advisory Committee for the NSF Directorate of Math & Physical Sciences (MPSAC).


Prof. Fuqiang Wang has been appointed a University Faculty Scholar



The Department of Physics Welcomes President Córdova as its Newest Faculty Member
· "France Córdova becomes Purdue University's president." (Nature)
· President Córdova's home page


Professor Giordano Appointed Physics Head


Professor Shipsey Appointed to Fermilab and Dept. of Energy Committees


Prof. Bortoletto appointed to DOE/NSF Particle Physics Project Prioritization Panel (P5) Subpanel



Professor Daniel S. Elliott nominated a Fellow of the American Physical Society


Professor Durbin appointed to the Physics Policy Committee of the American Physical Society


Professor Giuliani selected as a Fellow of the American Physical Society


Julie Conlon appointed to AAPT Committee on Physics in Pre-High School Education


Prof. Lynn Bryan elected to NARST board of directors


Prof. Carlson — selected to receive a Cotrell Scholar Award (April 18, 2006)


Prof. Erica Carlson! Awarded for her Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Teaching, College of Science (March 23, 2006)


Prof. Norbert Neumeister Recipient of Outstanding Junior Investigator Award in High Energy Physics (March 23, 2006)


Prof. Marc Caffee spotlights PRIME Lab in "Elements"


Prof. David Koltick heads south to recruit students


Have MoJo couch, will travel



Prof. Rodríguez Finalist to ACS Symposium


Prof. Daniela Bortoletto to help plan the future of elementary particle and astro-particle physics.


Professor Shipsey Interviewed by Science News


The Department of Physics celebrates 100 years of physics accomplishments.


Prof. David D. Nolte — recipient of McCoy Award


Prof. Shipsey — "The World Year of Physics: Einstein's Legacy"



The School of Science is now the College of Science


Physics Professor Daniela Bortoletto to be part of national study


Congratulations Julie Conlon - Oustanding Science Educator


Hubert James Distinguished Professor of Physics


New Faculty Members


Prof. Rokhinson — NSF Career Award


Prof. Rodríguez — NSF CAREER Award