# Department of Physics and Astronomy Safety Committee Meeting February 7, 2025

## **Physics and Astronomy Safety Committee**

#### MEMBERS

Oana Malis (chair), Marc Caffee, Greg Chmiel, Seth Fultz, Tongcang Li, Jing Liu, Andy Robison, Sergei Savikhin, Keith Schmitter, Mark Smith, Fuqiang Wang, Tiancong Zhu, C.W. Robertson (graduate student)

### Agenda

#### 1. Call to Order (Prof. Malis)

a. Welcome Judah Young from EHS team

#### 2. Integrated Safety Plan Review (Judah Young)

- a. Review and discussion of abatement items
- b. Review of EHS building inspection report, from Brian McDonald
- c. Review injury reports and near miss situations
- d. Confirmed building emergency plan is online (B.E.P.)
- e. Lab tour, PHYS B012-H

#### 3. Adjourn

#### Stated Goals for 2024-2025 Safety Committee

- Maintain safe and habitable building
- Complete ISP self-audit process with the following enhancements:
  - o All ISP self-audit forms online in One Drive
  - o All labs receive updated laboratory door sign
  - For labs with chemicals: all labs update chemical inventory form online version, and print for behind lab door

#### New Goals for 2025-2026 Safety Committee

- Add HSI training platform to manage assigned safety training
  - Schedule HSI administrator training with EHS
- · Add lock-out tag-out training for researchers and staff